top of page

What is MommyGyver?


If you remember that show from 1985-1992... MacGyver was a physicist. He could save the world with a piece of string and a paperclip. MacGyver became such an icon, he became a verb. If you search the Oxford dictionary now, you too will find that MacGyver means- "To fix things in an unusual way, or with items not intended for that purpose." And moms, ain't that the truth though? I don't know- it sounds like everyday life for me at my house. Just the day before Christmas Eve, and EVERYONE coming to our home (that we moved in to a month earlier) I was unpacking dishes we don't use daily. Christmas platters, chargers, the good silver. OF COURSE I already had a sink full (and I DO mean FULL) of dishes from food prep work for the meal and our dinner the night before. We just bought the house, and I'm rinsing the loaded sink. The style of sink is set in below the granite counter top. I noticed some foodstuffs in the crevice between the sink and the counter- and I sprayed it out. What I learned is- the folks that had done all the hoity-toity updates to our home prior to our purchase had cut corners. A LOT of them. Such as not sealing or anchoring the sink in place below the granite. What happened, you ask? Well, water poured onto the outlet below that had my dishwasher plugged into it. The day before, and I've got a blown GFI (because you know it didn't just trip the reset or JUST the breaker. No... this thing is over 20 years old and shorted on me. Of course.) Leave it to MommyGyver to fix it. And fix it I did. And what can go wrong will go wrong. The kids will get bored, the company will show up early. Life will happen. Do you have your cape on under your clothes? I do. So, in short- this blog and webpage is intended to be a life hack central for everything Mommy... from kid activities to online deals and steals just for our community. From how to fix things to creative cooking ideas that are fun for the family. I've got you covered. You're already a superwoman. Now you can be MommyGyver. (Image credit: girlsguidetoswagger.com)


Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page