top of page

The Bitch Is Back!

I took some time away. I was overwhelmed. Irritated. Defeated. I was just coming out of the LuLaRoe lawsuit against me that was meant to bankrupt me, scare me away. They wanted me to disclose my sources because they didn't think I was qualified to call myself a journalist. At the end of it all, it didn't really matter what they thought because the lawsuit wasn't meant to accomplish anything but to scare me off the scent. "We have money to burn and you don't." Noted. The end result was a settlement neither of us can really discuss. But I CAN tell you that nowhere in that settlement did it say I couldn't continue writing about LuLaRoe or the bullshit they spew. But I needed a break. I wasn't prepared for the craziness the entire topic brought my way. Wasn't ready for the internet to know my name- and no one told me I shouldn't ever read the comment section. (PS: NEVER read the comment section.) I was falling down an internet rabbit hole and it was taking so much of my time, affecting my mental health, and I needed a minute (or a few years) to collect myself and decide what was next. I was working on a new project (I promise, you'll love it, and I'll talk about it when I can) and the topic came up- "Is Mommy coming back?" "Yeah... I said- she is." I didn't want to limit myself to saying that I was never going to go apeshit on a MLM cult again, or say I'd never sprinkle shit skittles all over the vomitous rainbow of terrible fashion that is LuLaRoe, BUT, I did say that it wasn't going to be an intentional focus for me again. But there was a lingering taste of unfinished business about the work I, among many others did on the topic- and I feel it needs to be addressed. A question remained for me: All MLMs, though some less outwardly obnoxiously cultish than others, are ALL predatory in nature. Why were we working so hard to expose one, then another, then another- just for the same people who cried abuse to jump into the waiting arms of yet another abuser by a different name? No one has answered that question for me yet. It's ok. I'll wait. In the meantime, MommyGyver is back and she's as bitchy and colorful as ever. If you want PC, rated G... you'd better look elsewhere. Love, MommyG

Comments


Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page