top of page

Mooney Speaks on Her KKK Video


I want to stipulate right away that I title these KKK only to show connection between the posts. I can't seem to update these fast enough before more information comes to me. First, it has been alleged that the "Highlander Reunion" facebook account that was fervently posting in defense of Ms. Mooney in the LuLaRoe Defective group was a sock account belonging to none other than Katie Mooney herself. I don't have confirmation on that, but a source close to her alleges that is her account. Next, Ms. Mooney issued a statement on her group page- you know- the one her downlines will be kicked out of if they are in the defective group...? I've attached the shots below. No mention of course, of kicking members out of her group if they stay in Defective. Next, I'll bet she claims she ever said it. As I stated in the blog post prior to this one, I can see where she was making the connection between a white supremacy group and not lining up with someone's values as a sort of shock factor to consider. How appalled would you be if your friend added you to a group like that? Would you stay in it? I get it what she was trying to say. I do... But I think the comparison was cheap. It cheapens the plague that minorities have had to face with racism for hundreds of years. It dismisses religious persecution and likens those horrible issues to a group dedicated to showing evidence of faulty manufacturing and poor product warranty. Look, as pissed as people are, no one in their right mind would think it would equate to the same level of concern over the violence and hatred spewed in the name of white supremacy groups. Making that comparison is irresponsible and insensitive. However, I will forgive her that statement at this point and dismiss it as a careless, poorly thought out statement made by someone who was obviously upset. I'm not justifying it, I'm just going to move on to my next point. Threatening to walk away from a person you're essentially being paid to mentor because HER values don't line up with YOURS is nothing short of elementary and foolish. I reiterate from earlier- if someone is sharing your group posts, it's because you're putting things out there that are ridiculous. Who are you to "shame on" anyone? What gives you the authority to shame anyone? What groups they belong to are NONE of your business. My suggestion is you spring clean your attitude, and think about what you're saying to people. if the posts change, no one would be upset enough to feel the need to share them. "If you're in that group, you can't be in mine." "Remove yourself from the crap out there that you don't want to be aligned with." You don't get to tell people what to do. You don't get to assign shame for their decisions to investigate issues. Turning a blind eye to the issues is irresponsible and ignorant. As a "mentor", it is your responsibility to discuss and help them overcome issues. You're there to lead, not dictate. I think that point weighs heavier than the absent minded, ignorant comparison to white supremacy. However the video as a whole speaks to the mentality that exists within. Furthermore, her body language: the raised eyebrows, the teeth sucking, clicking, head weaving indicates to the viewer a sense of condescension and immaturity. Where I appreciate her apology for the insensitive comments, it is unfortunate that she felt the need to publish this type of video to her downline to begin with. If the approach had been different, a retraction would not be necessary.

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page