top of page

Letter to MommyGyver

This was sent to me yesterday- "Thank you for your blog and group. I think I contacted you through your blog before. I'm currently trying to figure out the best way to pay off the 10K in debt I have on a credit card for LLR with the 13k in inventory I have to walk away with the most money before LLR implodes. I'm freaking out..." She goes on to say- "My Mom has breast cancer, she has surgery next week. I emailed compliance to see how a leave of absence would work. My Mom is the caretaker for my Grandfather who has many health issues, and I will likely have to take that over depending on her course of treatment. It took compliance over a month to get back to me and they told me I would need a doctor's note before they would consider a leave of absence. I replied asking which doctor...mine or my mom's? Because I'm not sure they didn't realize I am not the one who is sick. NO response. My sponsor is useless. I could be on fire and she would ignore my messages..." After a bit more discussion, she elaborates on her mom's relationship to her LuLaRoe business- "And besides wanting to help care for my mom as much as I can, the other big reason it impacts my LLR business is my mom comes over almost everyday and plays with my son so I can work." She and I chatted a bit more, and she offered this advice to LuLaRoe- "You really want to bless and support families? How about if someone emails you and says they need a few months off, it's a no questions asked type of thing? There are all sorts of reasons people might want to take a break, reasons that will benefit their families. It always circles back to them not really supporting us." My own questions about this are- Why would an independent contractor need to take a formal LOA? And why would giving notice require a doctor's note or an approval? I understand excusing them from required activity- but let's be clear about the facts here. You are requiring she provide you a doctor's note for an illness that is not her own for an employment relationship that does not exist to excuse her from the obligation of spending money with your company? Wait, what? The woman's mother is sick. You want her to go to her mother's doctor and ask for a note to excuse her absence from a voluntary position in a multi-level-marketing scheme? You understand that the surgeon she will be requesting this from is not a moron, right? The person has achieved multiple degrees and levels of achievement academically, and he should take time from saving this woman's life to write this consultant the equivalent of a hall pass?

Documentation requesting the time needed. To excuse you from having to buy 33 pieces of clothing from them per month. Let's say that again. This woman who spends money with this company every month, needs a doctor to write her a letter excusing her from having to purchase merchandise while she cares for her ailing mother. One more time. You need a doctor to say that she can't buy your stuff for 4 months? Gobsmacked.

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page