top of page

Always Learning

Earlier, I made a well-intentioned post- meant to express feelings about racism and my overall "humanity" based feelings. "A person is a person." Type thing. I was trying to come across as someone who cares for people regardless of social/cultural identifiers- and instead, I came across as flippant to racial struggles, which was never my intention. In a (clearly poorly expressed way), I was trying to say- if you're a good person, I like you. And that's really all that matters to me to become my friend. I asked for feedback, and I received reading for days, and a couple caring individuals that took the time to privately elaborate further on some of the modern cultural struggles of being a POC. I stated in my original post that I was naive on the WAYS to say what my heart felt, and I clearly said them wrong. I won't go too far into what I was trying to say, for fear of flubbing it again. But what was intended was just that in an age where I think there are people that look for reasons to be offended over LITTLE things (people's taste in clothing, what someone names their child) that a group I participate in was willing and able to be relatively reasonable in a racially charged discussion. What I got for my efforts- was my ass handed to me. And I deserve it. For anyone that was offended by my post, you have my most humble and sincere apologies- and my commitment to understanding the sensitive nature of the words I choose and how I choose to phrase them going forward. I sincerely apologize.


Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page