top of page

LuLaRoe Alternative- The Legging Lair

Ok, the ONLY thing Mommy loves better than a sale- is a small independent business. So, when the Kerry, the owner of The Legging Lair contacted me and said- "Hey! We've got some goodies we want you to try out!", I said- "Come to Mommy" because LuLa alternative, AND small woman owned biz? Sold. The package arrives. Super cute tissue paper hugs the surprise goodies inside. I open it. This lady has got me pegged. Black and white. You just can't go wrong with black and white. Oh, and a super cute chevron patterned VERY lightweight, spring friendly scarf in shades of grey. So, I inspect the goods. The top is called "Cold Shoulder" tunic. Solid black, very lightweight, slightly sheer black knit. (Wear a tank top or cami under it if you're modest. ) Admittedly, I looked at it like- "This isn't going to work for me." I'm busty on top, small waist, and blessed in the booty. I was wrong. It was SO cute on. So cute in fact, that when my husband arrived home from work, he looked at me wearing it and said- "That isn't something I've seen you in before. It's really flattering." One of my biggest challenges as I lose weight is the top to midsection ratio. Flowy-type midsection tops make me look like I'm wearing a tent, so I tend to gravitate more toward the fitted ones. I'm one of those women who generally feels that anything loose around the waist is made for women who are shaped like a straw, and not an hourglass. Not in this case. It didn't exaggerate my bust, and it didn't add heft to my midsection. It was also cut to a length that showed off my bottom. Priced right at $22- I might just go back and get other colors. My bottoms were covered in this package too. Legging Lair sent me black leggings with a faux flower stitch pattern. The fabric was super soft and thick. Length was perfect. I'm 5'9" and a size 8. The OS size fit beautifully- with no shortness in the leg at all. They held up nicely in the wash after a day of unpacking boxes, wrestling dogs and kids, and a little bit of yoga. These have about a 1" elastic waistband, and it does its job well. Priced at $16 or $18, these are fantastic LuLa alternatives! I did not wear the delicate scarf out that day- specifically because it was SO delicate and my 9 month old son is the equivalent of carrying around a bulldog puppy. He'll chew, pull, and rip anything of interest to him. So I saved it for a date night. But it was ample in length and width, and very feminine. I searched through her small sales group of about 500 people, and I saw many playful patterns- of which, I actually claimed some myself. I think what's especially notable besides the cuteness and quality of these clothes was the owner's ability to accept feedback. Just in communication with her, she was friendly and attentive- and that's very much appreciated by THIS customer. That, and she referred to the plus size offerings as "fluffy" which I found to be sweet and playful. I also note that I saw the very same treatment I received throughout her communication within the sales group- so I can comfortably ascertain that it is her norm- versus being afraid of the pen-wielding blogger giving her a terrible review. This was a fun outfit to review- and I look forward to giving her more business myself in the future. She was a joy to work with, and I think you'll enjoy her offerings. (I ordered sailboat and pineapple leggings! Check them out! Visit the Legging Lair HERE and tell her MommyGyver sent you. <3

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page