top of page

Agnes & Dora Joplin Dress

I was lucky enough to attract a lot of attention from various competitors to LuLaRoe these past few months. I enjoy trying out comparable products and discussing the similarities and differences between them. Several reps have come to me with different offerings to try from their various businesses. I have a few from Agnes and Dora, and rather than lump them all together, I've decided to do a blog post for each because each consultant I worked with provided unique service and experience that I think deserves its own mention. Mandy Knollenberg is the Agnes and Dora rep that sent me a black Joplin dress to try out. When I accept reviews- I often refuse to pick the product, simply because I want to review the product from an unbiased perspective. If I PICK the item, I already have a bias. When Mandy said she was sending me a Joplin dress, I shrugged. I didn't know what it was, and I did not look it up. It arrived and I immediately noted that it was solid black- already something rare in the LuLaRoe world- black is a non-issue in Agnes and Dora, I'm told. But I chuckled. The Joplin is essentially Agnes and Dora's version of the Carly. In retrospect, i wish I had looked it up, because knowing that style, I'd have represented my size differently to Mandy. I am an 8, or a medium- but slowly going more toward the 6 or 7 sizing. I'm large chested, and very hourglass shaped. Traditionally, I stayed away from the Carly dress because it was not form flattering to my shape. In LuLaRoe, consultants knotted Carly to wear them with leggings and jeans. I note that the Joplin is much lighter of a knit, and hence, much more flowy. Its cut a bit differently on the bottom, and it feels longer to me. The sizing still runs big for my preference, and I'd recommend selecting one to two sizes smaller depending on how you like the fit. If I could go back, I'd order a small for sure. But it wasn't a total loss. I lived in this dress for two days. It was very warm here during those days, and the flowy, light material was very appreciated during that time. Even in black, this dress is very spring and summer appropriate. Mandy also had recommended pairing it with a large belt under the bust to cinch it just a bit. So where I didn't go in as a fan of this product, I came out really enjoying it. I have some ideas on hacks for girls like me to gently modify the dress to make it more form flattering. I'll be playing with those ideas and posting later. The dress washed and dried perfectly. No bleeding issues, no pilling. It seemed slightly wrinkle resistant too. As reluctant as I wanted to be to give this dress flying colors, there was one other factor that pushed me from a surprised like into shocked love. There is no boob pocket. Thank you A+D for hearing my call. That was the deal maker for me. But check this out. I was chatting with Mandy about my issue with sizing, half blaming myself because my body is changing so much, I'm shrinking, I'm particular about fit, etc. Mandy was extremely responsive to that. Understanding that it wasn't just about the review- she genuinely wanted me to be thrilled with the dress. She offered to exchange it for another- even though I had literally lived in this thing for two days. She said- "I don't want it to go to waste, and I want you to have something you love." That spoke volumes to me about the kind of salesperson she is. I declined, because I really believe I can make this dress into a piece of perfection for my body type- and THAT is going to sell more Joplin dresses than just a review ever could. So please stick around for the Joplin/Carly hack I'll follow up with. Meantime, this dress was amazing enough to actually make me want to make it work for me. I have no shortage of clothing, but this baby found a permanent place in my closet- and Mandy has a permanent customer for her kindness and consideration. As I stated before, these reviews are the good, the bad, and the ugly. The only concern I have for this piece is sizing. Mandy provided me with a size chart for anyone considering the dress to size themselves accordingly. Check it out- and join her group. I love to send business to people that earn it. Her effort and consideration is more than impressive, and I feel that you will be well served by her. Her group link is HERE. And her direct shopping link is HERE Don't forget to tell her that MommyGyver sent you.

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page