top of page

Good Ol' Work Ethic


My mother's family is Eastern European. My dad's side is Sicilian. I was raised with mom's family predominantly. I grew up speaking Ukrainian, and I had a job working with my mom or my dad as a kid. My brothers worked in my mom's restaurant growing up as well. (I was long gone when my mom bought her restaurant.) This is how we were raised because of our culture. I have a very strong work ethic, and was employed legally (with work permit) at 14 years old. I've always worked. It's in my nature to do so. I often criticize MLM programs when they invite families to put their children to work "in the business". I disagree with this entirely. The difference for me is working in your parents' store, restaurant, shop, etc- it's owned by your parents, built by your parents. You're learning the business that your parents set up- by their ethic, their rules, with their hands. If your mom and dad want you to wash the floor, then you wash the floor because it's pride of ownership that you're learning. But when a mentor or upline tells parents to send their kids door to door to pass out business cards... eh... not the same thing, no matter how much time mom or dad have invested into it. I hope that makes sense to you. I know a lot of pro-MLM folks will argue that their MLM IS their business, but I beg to differ. If the MLM goes under, out of business, closes up shop- so do you. But if mom and dad's restaurant is functioning, and Tyson stops selling chicken- mom and dad can buy chicken elsewhere. I'm not discrediting people that work very hard at their MLM, but I just don't recognize it as "their" business. That being said, when a family starts a business, I try to support them as much as possible. My experience today is a great example that I want to share with you all. Our lawn mower broke and we are waiting for the part to be delivered so we can fix it. But in the meantime, our lawn HAS TO get cut because nosy neighbors happen, and they say things, and that tickles my crazy button. (I loathe busybodies) So, my friend has a service, but they were busy today. I sent a plea for help over the interwebs and got a response from a man who "just started a landscaping business with his son". Ok, can you come today? Great. See you at 5. 5 comes, and they get out of the truck. Dad is a regular looking dude, spends time in the sun, you can tell. His son... is all of 8 years old and a stiff wind would blow him over. I'm immediately concerned for the boy. It's warm out, the yard has a steep incline, I'm a mom so I worry about everything...

I ask little guy if he thinks he can handle the yard. He looks around, smiles, looks at his dad and says- "Yeah. Me and my dad have got it." I nod. Ok buddy. Dad says- "I work for a landscaper as my day job and it was my boy's idea that we start a business together so he can learn how to do everything. When he's older, he wants to run it together and hire people." Now my inner entrepreneur is tickled. I look at the son. "Is that true? This is your idea?" He nods- "And I get to do it with my dad. I like spending time with him." Ok, well... let me know if you guys need food or water or anything. I'll be inside. (TOTALLY had to walk away because that comment made me tear up, and for sure they would think I'm nuts.) So, I'm here in my office, typing away to the buzzing of two mowers. I look out the window when I hear one kick off, and I see little man look over at dad and give him the thumbs up. Dad looks back, and returns the gesture. Ok you fucks, I'm trying not to cry here. This is worse than that Marley and Me movie on my emotions. Quit with the feels. And so they go on like this- I watch that little boy skillfully push that mower around like he was born on it, and dad keeping a watchful eye to make sure he's ok and doing a good job- while maneuvering his own mower around my ridiculously complicated yard. I think to myself- this is what America needs more of, isn't it? Less tv, less electronics taking up quality time. More time as a family spent learning a skill or a trade. More respect for your parents- and equal respect for the adults your children are striving to become. They are trying to become you, after all. I am swelling with pride for this dad and his son. Not because they are doing the best job on my yard. (It's not a golf course, I really don't care if every blade is cut pristinely.) I'm proud because I am participating inadvertently in a boy looking up to the example his father is setting for him. I'm watching dad beam with pride at this little boy wanting to learn his trade. This is missing from our country now. I see kids demanding things from their parents, parents forgetting how to parent, afraid to parent their children in public for fear of someone's side comments... there is a lack of respect for the relationship itself. Children deserve just as much respect as parents do- but it's all earned, isn't it? You don't get to plop your kids in front of a tv because you're too busy to parent them then complain that they don't do anything BUT watch tv. Lead by example. Show them who you want them to be... and be who you want them to see. We need more summertime lemonade stands, kiddie car washes, father son landscaping. Long gone is the time where people took pride in some good old hard work anymore. I'm happy to see these boys bringing it back and I will be continuing to contribute to this father son team- even when my mower is fixed. I hope that when my son is a little older, he and my husband will look at each other like this duo does. The humble, yet proud- "That's my dad." "That's my son."


Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page