top of page

LipSense- Damn it, you got me

If you've read my blog for any amount of time, you'll learn that I'm not generally a fan of direct sales or MLM programs. I try to be fair though. There is a difference between Direct Sales and MLM and I don't think the two terms are interchangeable. My issues with these programs are usually the programs themselves. Usually my issues are with forced inventory loading (AmWay or LuLaRoe) or lack of transparency in communication (LuLaRoe), and false claims of miraculous results (Younique's foundation and the covering whole permanent marker on the face trick) But some companies really have great and fun products. You can see in some of my last reviews of clothing provided to me, these companies have some really great clothes. Even LuLaRoe- for all the criticism I have for them, my major issue is with the way consultants are treated, and not so much the clothes. I think they have some quality issues that need to be resolved and some poor pattern choices, but I was a LuLaCustomer and consultant first- because I liked the products. Where I may never sell direct sales merchandise again, I don't think I can avoid trying them. Too many of my friends are deep in the world of DS, and I like to support their efforts. And sometimes, I'm pleasantly surprised. April, my friend since childhood contacted me when she saw my blog and asked me to try a couple LipSense products. I've known April a long time, and where her delivery is much nicer than mine is, she and I are cut from the same- "tell it like it is" cloth. She's real, and I trust her opinions, just as my friends and many of you trust mine. She had signed up to sell this brand, and I love makeup. I write about makeup, play with makeup, and if I have the chance to review a million lipsticks, I'm going to sit at home and paint my lips until they fall off. Makeup is fun. So, sure April. I'll look at LipSense for you. The package arrives, and I have to laugh because my friend is a considerate one. My family collects pop tops to donate to Ronald McDonald House in memory of our deceased son. We're trying to get to a million so that they will make a plaque with Jacob's name on it that we would keep next to his urn. April sent a bag of pop tops along with the LipSense she wanted me to review. I'm telling you about this because this is pretty indicative of who April is as a person. She's thoughtful and goes a step beyond. I can only imagine this transfers to her customer service skills.

In this package, she sent a lip color- Blue Red, clear gloss, and Oops Remover. April was very clear- "Let me know when you get this and I will give you directions." So I shot her a message. She explained that many bad experiences with the product are had from consumers not following the directions properly. I thought to myself- "How hard could it be to put on lip gloss?" She goes on- "Make sure your lips are clean and dry. Shake the tube REALLY well. Then you are going to put on three light layers. Think damp wash cloth, not dripping." Ok. So here we go. Lips clean? Check. Light layer one? Check. Immediately, I noticed a cooling sensation on my lips. April explained that was due to the inclusion of alcohol that evaporates away. It wasn't unpleasant at all, and didn't burn. Just a nice, cool feeling. April instructed me to allow about 30 seconds between applying each layer to let them dry. Also, the layers are REALLY tacky. Keep that in mind. Sticky, sticky. But that does go away! So, three layers are done, and I officially have Russian Hooker Red lips. The finish without the gloss is tacky and matte. And red. Good lord, this is head turning red. April picked it for me because she felt it would look awesome against my fair skin and dark hair. And here's a secret- I LOVE red lipstick but I never get a chance to really wear it. First, I only really wear it if we're going out, not eating, and there's no chance of kissing my husband- so, like... never. It seems red likes to get on everything. My teeth, my clothes, and hubby's face. ;) But I love red. And she knows this. Sneaky, sneaky. Now here's a tip- BE CAREFUL when you're putting it on. This stuff really does not come off. April was kind enough to include a tube of Oops Remover for me as well. I'll get into that later. I am now ready to finish the final step: the addition of the glossy top coat. The product without the gloss is sticky and tacky and it would drive me nuts if that were the finished result. But... it's not. I put on a light layer of gloss and press my lip together and rub. The tackiness is immediately gone, and I'm left with super glossy, smooth and sealed red lips. I messaged April back again, content that this product is fantastic and I ask her how long it will last. She laughs and tells me to go eat, have a drink, play with my son, kiss his little face and don't worry about it. I do just that. She explained that the lipcolor can be removed with oil- so to avoid super greasy cheeseburgers and fries, but anything that isn't greasy or oily is fair game. At this point, my husband arrived home from work and I walked up to greet him. Immediately, he inquired about the bright candy apple red lips I was sporting. I explained, and leaned in to kiss him. He recoiled immediately. I told him that April swore it wouldn't kiss off. To prove it, I picked up our son and planted a big one on his fat little cheek. NO TRANSFER. Even though my lips had the look of wet shellac, my baby's face had none. NONE. So, it got me. And so did April. You can visit her HERE or in her VIP group HERE. I'll see you there. I'll be the chick with the bright red lips.

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page