top of page

Plump Lips For Days- Article 1: Soap and Glory Pillow Plump XXL


It started with a joke. A MommyGyver critic made a comment about my blog being a source of income because my husband put his foot down and refused to pay for my botox lip treatments. That cracked me up. I have ALWAYS had really full lips naturally. It's one of those weird things that everyone in my thin lipped family always joked about. Maybe the mailman was my dad... where did those lips come from? It's been a talking point about my features my whole life and it's a feature I'm proud of. I love my lips- but they often get accused of being enhanced. So then I thought how funny would it be to actually HAVE them enhanced? My husband called me crazy. But one of my friends said- "You should do some research into various lip plumping glosses! If they make a difference on YOUR lips, can you imagine what they'd do for someone who actually needs the help?" And so- the great lip plumping experiment began. I went out and bought every plumper I could get my hands on. Some of the shops I visited gave me samples of others after buying up whatever I could find... First of all, some of these are pretty easy to find. Some are really affordable. Some are like- "Wait, how much??" Better I spend it and point you to the places to spend your money more wisely. Because I've got 20 tubes of lip plumper now... surely you don't want this problem. :P Today begins the great review project, and I bring you Soap and Glory's Pillow Plump XXL. I must disclose first, I am a HUGE fan of Soap and Glory. So HUGE. I'll be talking about this brand a lot in this blog. I just haven't had anything I don't love yet- and this gloss is no exception. When I review items that are supposed to DO something, I break it down and make it easier for you to decide which attributes you like, and which you don't. This way, you will be able to decide which product is going to be best for you. I selected the clear gloss. It has a little bit of shimmer to it. It's in a .33 oz squeeze tube. There are a few different colored options available as well. You can find them by clicking on the picture above.

In the making of this review, I took a before photo, a five minutes after application photo, and a 20 minutes after photo. The question we all want answered: Does it work? You know, I am going to say yes. I don't think if your lips are hair thin, you're going to walk away looking like Angelina Jolie, but something happens, yes.

If you notice my lips in the first picture, they are plump, pale pink. In the two after I used it, remember- this was CLEAR gloss: my lips are pinker, and I see a bit of plumping on my top lip. Pressing them together as I type this, I feel that they are a little fuller. Through the research and purchasing of all the glosses for this review series, I was given a bit of sage advice from several of the reps at the various shops I visited. USER RESULTS MAY VARY. End of day, it really depends on how sensitive your body is to the various ingredients in each one. I can tell you that my lips are NOT sensitive, so my noticing any difference is pretty impressive to me. And this buzz? You might not feel it as intensely as I did. Or, it could burn like hell. Isn't makeup grand? With that in mind, this is one I really like. And here's a little secret: I might just keep this one in my purse because sometimes, gloss is all I want. A little natural color pulled out of my lips won't hurt any. If you're reading this, Soap and Glory- PLEASE lose the weird flavor.

I noticed that the clear version I was testing is not available on Amazon, and Target had it cheaper. Go to Target by clicking the ad below, and type in Soap and Glory XXL in the search bar.


Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page