top of page

Here Comes The Sun


Initially, when I started reviewing, I wanted to reach women about products that women like. Makes sense, right? But I had so hoped that I'd get in with women crafters, artisans, and more- for so many reasons. The first is because I'm one of them. The second reason is that this is another work from home option for a lot of moms. We're a creative, gifted bunch. Crafting, upcycling, and just creating is in the nature of a woman. We create life- painting rocks to look like ladybugs and making paper crafts is a walk in the park after creating life inside of you for nine months, am I right, mommies? So, as my blog has circled the internet, I'm slowly starting to reach the artsy mom. The one with real talent for something she loves to create. And my first review is of a woman and her craft that has inspired me. I want to do this too! This lady has a mixed-fuel torch and glass rods, and creates hand-made glass beads. Whoop-de-do! Right? No. These are awesome. Think Pandora-type glass beads made for a slider type bangle or charm bracelet. But even then, it's just so much more.

The business is called Soleil Beads, (Soleil means sun) and Hillary- the owner, glass creating dynamo, and fellow mom, often creates these beauties just to donate profits to a good cause. This is her passion and you can tell in every bead she makes. The charity portion of the way she functions just speaks to the kind of person she is.

She sent me a few to review after I watched her do a live video of the creation of some of her beads. It's amazing how quickly and skillfully she creates these. You see her bobbing her head to the music playing in the background, as she has a good old time making beads that contain everything from ocean-like swirls to beautiful, complex flower designs inside. The ones she sent are absolutely stunning. They have such depth and fragile beauty inside, encased in clear glass around them. I'm doing them an absolute injustice when I say they are beautiful and that I will cherish them forever. It's so much more than that for me to know that this person that I now know created these with such love and fun in her heart. This is her job, but it is her true joy. The most amazing part of this whole thing (as if her love of the craft and her charitable heart aren't enough) is that she is entirely self-taught.

She decided this is what she wanted to do, and so she did it. I can think of nothing more inspiring as a woman to write about another woman. She chose to be this, and so she made it her reality. I just love that. I've always loved glasswork. Hillary has inspired me to learn how to do this too. I am moved by her self-taught skill, and am inspired to learn as well. She offers to teach anyone who wants to learn, and she's close enough to me that I might just take her up on a class or two.

If ever there were a business I could endorse, here it is. As for wear and tear on these beauties, I have worn them non stop since I received them over a week ago. They have clanked into each other, my counter, my son has found his little teething mouth wrapped around my wrist and inevitably- the bracelet. I have carried in grocery bags that the handles have jammed them up into each other- and they look absolutely pristine. Here is Hillary's link, please join her group, tell her I sent you- and be as inspired as I have been. You will not be disappointed! Click HERE for her facebook group. And below is the link to her website.

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page