top of page

Cheap Chic meets Vintage Femme

Definition of plunder

play\-d(ə-)r

  1. transitive verb

  2. 1a : to take the goods of by force (as in war) : pillage, sack invaders plundered the townb : to take by force or wrongfully : steal, loot plundered artifacts from the tomb

  3. 2: to make extensive use of as if by plundering : use or use up wrongfully plunder the land

  4. intransitive verb

  5. : to commit robbery or looting

I'm guessing that the creators of the jewelry company called Plunder chose the word because the buyer loves the product so much, she's tempted to steal it.

When Melissa contacted me for some feedback on the brand, I had never heard of it. She, like many listens to Mommy's perspective on products (and I'm grateful for the trust) and asked if I'd take a look at this brand. She selected some items she thought were indicative of the type of product the brand carries and sent them my way.

The first most notable quality about this product was the packaging. It's so very victorian inspired, vintage designed, and chic in a sort of rustic, shabby way. The colors on the folded paper presentation boxes are muted and pastel, and the jewelry inside is protected further by beautifully feminine jewelry pouches printed with victorian themes such as birdcages and butterflies. There is no detail spared- down to the little tag that says the brand name on the bottom corner of the pouch. It's all about those details. Taking the first product out of the gift pouch, I discover a pair of black filigree or lace styled square dangle earrings. They are called "Diamond" style. The design is delicate. Very thin stamped metal. I wore them for several hours and they did not irritate my ears in the least. This earring retails for $8. The second product was a long silver colored "Chalana" necklace with multicolored beads on one side, and a large oval cabochon with a cute graphic that read- "With God, all things are possible." It was lightweight, yet substantial. Once again, I wore it for several hours, and it didn't itch or irritate my skin. It retails for $22. Neither of these two items matched my particular style or preference, but they seemed sturdy enough to warrant more research into the company. Don't misunderstand. I didn't hate them in the least. My personal style is just different than these particular items but while browsing the website, I discovered several items I would like to "plunder"! Remember, personal taste is personal. Unique to you. :) Looking through the page, there were several styles that I thought matched my general style better, but having these two above as a litmus for quality, I'm excited to reach out and grab a few of these:

I'd compare the quality of this brand to something you might pick up at Target or a similar big box store- and the price point is comparable. The brand definitely knows itself, as the theme and style clearly resonates with every piece being reflective of this style of jewelry. If the design is simple or if it's intricate and ornate, there is an overall feel of delicateness and femininity. From an accessorizing perspective, I can see the draw that this brand can have, and I expect to see more from this company in the future. And what of the rep, Melissa? Well, first of all, I think what I noticed about her right away was her enthusiasm for the brand. She spoke about it knowledgeably and openly. She joined the young (3 year old) company because she aligned with the owner's desire to help other women and has been a Plunder rep for about a year. She's got a lot of personality. I get a ton of emails and hers dripped with charisma and energy. She got my attention, and she's been a joy to work with. Random side note: after she contacted me, I joined her group to follow her sales, and get a feel for the kind of rep she is just because I was so unfamiliar with this brand. She's so funny. Just kind of quirky and she's got a little bit of spunk to how she interacts. I instantly liked her. She kind of reminds me of a more refined Tinkerbell. Another thing to note is that she shared in video, and you could tell what she liked, but wasn't like- overly hyping her product. You know what I'm talking about, ladies. That pushy, shove it down your throat with how Uhhhh-MAZING this thing is... the level of sauce on the shit is enough to gag you. None of that here. I think you'll dig this chick and her stuff. It might just inspire a purchase. Perhaps a Plunder, even. Her facebook group link is HERE and her direct link for those of you that don't do facebook or groups is HERE.

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page