top of page

Honey and Lace Bradbury Dress

Let's talk about spring and summer dresses. When Angela messaged and asked if I'd take a look at the H+L Bradbury dress, I got excited. But not for any reason you would know- until I tell you- right now.

As I've said in my past blogs, I've struggled with weight issues for the last several years. Pregnancies and autoimmune issues basically ruined me and my once really brag worthy bod. But after this last baby, and grateful for new and much more competent doctors who were determined to help me find a reason for my huge weight gain and difficulty getting it off, I am almost back to the old me. For so long, I was so uncomfortable in my own body, that I shied away from anything feminine that may draw attention to me. I basically lived in hubby's sweatpants. So as this weight has been falling off me this past few months, I'm so close to where I want to be that I am catching myself going back to girly full force. It feels AMAZING. Just this past weekend, I wore a floral Nicole dress that I bought from a LLR consultant GOOB. Like I have said before, I loved LLR. I'd be the loudest supporter if they'd fix their issues. The Nicole was an XS, and it fit beautifully. It was the first time I willingly wore a dress to a non-formal event in several years. My wardrobe is seriously lacking in the clothing that fits me department, and more so, dresses. So yes, Angela, I would love to try a Bradbury. What's your size? She said. I told her, and thought about a small. She said maybe a medium would work. Of course, when they arrived, they both worked. Let me explain. I have an extremely hourglass shaped figure. I'm large busted, but very small under bust. Smaller waist, larger hips. A huge issue I have with dresses that are gathered under bust is either the top portion is too small for my chest, or the bottom portion of the under bust is too large. Without a zipper in the back or side to get a true fitted dress, I usually end up squeezed in or swimming. So when I went for the sizing, I chose to address the unde rbust issue, while she was more concerned about my chest fitting comfortably. She sent a black Bradbury in medium, and a pink one in small.

The first one I wore was the medium. The length was longer than my height, but with shoes, it did not drag on the ground. As expected, the chest had room for me and then some, but the under bust portion did not accentuate how small my ribcage is. I say it fit though, because I state above that I prefer a more fitted look. If I didn't, this would be the size I would go to. I didn't have to do much to the dress to enjoy it anyway. I took in the under bust elastic by just pinning it at the sides once it was on. I didn't pin much- probably an inch total. But I could see and feel a difference. I wore it out with my family. We were outside and it was pretty warm. The billowing length of the dress was very forgiving of heat, and as it was sleeveless, I was very comfortable being outside. The fabric was soft and flowy in a cottony blend without being sheer. I absolutely loved it. Black is a go to for me, and this may have factored in with my initial comfort in this dress. Biased because I love black dresses... The second dress, the pink floral in size small, I wore at home yesterday. The length was to my feet (I'm 5'9") and I would call that appropriate. Normally, I might have wanted the extra length the medium afforded me because of shoes, but I don't think it would have made a difference in a sandal or flat.

The chest was noticeably tighter as Angela predicted. But it still worked for me. It wasn't uncomfortably tight, but if you don't like that skin-fitted feel, size up. The under bust was perfect. It went in just as I liked it, and didn't ride up when I raised my arms. This fabric is bright pink with a lovely floral pattern on it. I can tell you that I would not have chosen this dress pattern for myself- mainly because I've never been one for pink. But remember, I have been hiding for a while in my own body. This dress is SO feminine, I think it just scared me a little. But when I put it on and did my hair and makeup, I immediately felt comfortable in it. It really is a lovely shade of pink, and it looked really good on me. I was very pleasantly surprised by how much I liked it once it was on. I comment in my blogs often with my husband's feedback for several reasons. He is a huge advocate for health and physical fitness, and was one of the main reasons I pushed my doctors so hard to find out why my fitness had become such a struggle. Through all the weight gain, he remained so positive for me. He still told me I was beautiful, still encouraged me to keep trying to be fit, but never made me feel badly. He complimented when I looked good, and would gently tell me when something didn't look right. So when he comments on something, first, it's because I know he notices. Second, because he genuinely cares, and third is because he's also grown accustomed to a more frumpy version of me. When he notices and says something, it's significant. He liked the black dress when I put it on. He said it was feminine without being girly, and it was flowy in a romantic kind of way. He liked it. But he's the opposite of me. Black dresses don't get his attention. (Unless my boobs are popping out of them) But the pink one made him take a step backward. He commented at how playful the dress made me seem to appear. That it was youthful and girly. He really liked it. He said it made even my persona come across lighter. His feedback resonates with me, and I really couldn't tell you which one I liked better. I am dead stuck between the two sizes at the moment. I wish they made a small and a half size because then all would be so much easier. As colors go, I also couldn't decide. Two very different looks are achieved with two different colors. Both looks are equally important in my personality, and if this were a mystery subscription box that was sent to me where I keep the outfit I like better, I'd buy them both. What this tells me is that the style itself is very versatile. It worked as a sundress at home, and a casual dress for the movies. I can see myself walking in either one barefoot on the beach, or cocktails on my patio, as well as wandering the aisles of Target for hours. The dress is just perfect for casual femininity. They refer to the elastic as the waist, but be sure you understand that it is a maxi-style and the waist is higher than your true waist. This dress also has pockets at the sides. They are at hand level when your arms are down, but I didn't feel compelled to use them. At one point, I caught myself sticking my hand in the pocket during a conversation. But never to actually hold anything. All in all, this is yet again another example of a product that I'm thrilled to have reviewed- and that floral was a sneak attack that caught me. And as for Angela- I think she's really got a good grasp on the sizing thing. She was right to suggest the medium to me- as most people aren't stuck in small and a half mode like I am. I also really like HOW she suggested it. Her note read: "I included the medium for you to try anyway because of your description of your chest. Please don't be offended." Honey, I fought so hard to get to a medium, the small concept is only a bonus. I could never be offended that you cared so much to try and ensure my happiness. Thank you for extending the extra effort. And just as a whole- a lot of these reviews are coming from people who HOPE I like the product, but are a little nervous about the what if. I don't generally select my clothing that I want to review, so think about the pressure they get knowing they are asking a woman who is verbally a critic of MLM and DS to honestly review an item- that they have no idea if I will hate it. That takes guts. It's very easy to become defensive when facing someone like me and the possibility that I may really dislike something sent. But the approach in handling that fear far outweighs the item to me. Even if I had despised it, I am able to note the good qualities, what worked for me, what didn't, and so on. I can appreciate that my readers do not all share my taste, and what I did not care for might be a draw to someone else. For this reason, when I review DS products, I pay special attention to the rep- because really- I'm reviewing her too. Customer service is paramount in ANY business. For the DS rep, hers needs to be at the pinnacle because that is essentially the main aspect of the business that is entirely within her control. But, fear not Angela- this story is a success. It's a story about two dresses that have a new home, my once again reluctantly written positive review of yet another winning direct sales item, and a shining example of a fearless and caring rep that I believe will serve her customers with delicate compassion and total attention to detail. Thank you Angela. Visit her HERE and tell her you found her at MommyGyver. (I'd list this as a LLR alternative article, but there is no comparative product that LLR makes to compare it to. But I am including it in the LLR alternative tags on my page because it is a competing brand.)

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page