top of page

Maybelline 24 Hour vs. Lipsense

On my review of April's LipSense submission to me for review, a reader had commented that Maybelline makes a 24 hour lip product that competes with LipSense for a fraction of the price. Always looking for other options for the more cost-conscious reader, I got in my car, went to the store and I bought it. $7. Ok... let's go. Here's what happened: I read the directions, followed up online to see if there was any other info they could provide me. tips, tricks, etc. It's important to note that this product advises one coat and waiting a few minutes before putting the chapstick like gloss on. The tacky texture in both products while waiting for them to set is irritating, but because LipSense dried faster, I didn't have to tolerate it longer. The Maybelline was also infinitely more sticky. I hated that. The color I picked was one that I would wear daily. I really liked this color: Perpetual Plum (It's the color I'm wearing in my Bradbury Dress review from earlier today. Pic here.)

I felt like the product is much thicker than LipSense- which made sense considering the single layer of Maybelline to the three light layers of LipSense. Maybelline didn't cool or tingle like LipSense, but that's easy. LipSense has pigment suspended in an alcohol base. The alcohol evaporates and leaves the pigment behind. Maybelline's is literally a layer of product that dries onto your lip. Once it's dry (and still tacky) you are to use the other end of the product- where there is a chapstick-like clear coat stick attached. Just like LipSense, this clear coat took away the tacky feeling- and thank GOD, because this stuff is really sticky. I said that, I know. But it's THAT sticky. I had accidentally pressed my lips together, and some of the top color transferred to the bottom. So yeah. Maybelline=sticky. Once the gloss was on with LipSense, I forgot it was there. It was done. Maybelline, I put it on, posed for some pics for the other review I did today, and I ate. By the time I was half done with my meal, the Maybelline was flaking and chunks were stuck to my bottom lip. I got up, reapplied the gloss, it was fine. Chatting with a friend online, I realized that I was chewing my lip- because once again, there were chunks of this stuff lifting up. The clear coat comes off so quickly and the color begins to get tacky immediately. There are ingredient differences too: Maybelline: STEP 1: G2417 ISODODECANE, TRIMETHYLSILOXYSILICATE, NYLON-611/DIMETHICONE COPOLYMER, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, LAUROYL LYSINE, C30-45 ALKYLDIMETHYLSILYL POLYPROPYLSILSESQUIOXANE, ALUMINA, PROPYLENE CARBONATE, SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE, SILICA, CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE, CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE, POLYETHYLENE TEREPHTHALATE, PARFUM/FRAGRANCE, ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE, ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, BENZYL ALCOHOL, DIMETHICONE, PARAFFIN, TIN OXIDE. [+/- MAY CONTAIN/PEUT CONTENIR MICA, CI 77891/TITANIUM DIOXIDE, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499/IRON OXIDES, CI 15850/RED 7, CI 15985/YELLOW 6 LAKE, CI 45410/RED 28 LAKE, CI 45380/RED 22 LAKE, CI 19140/YELLOW 5 LAKE, CI 42090/BLUE 1 LAKE, CI 75470/CARMINE] F.I.L. D41008/5. STEP 2: G2296 TRIMETHYL PENTAPHENYL TRISILOXANE, IS-DIGLYCERYL POLYACYLADIPATE-2, OZOKERITE, CERA ALBA/BEESWAX/CIRE DABEILLE, CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE, CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, PARFUM/FRAGRANCE. [+/- MAY CONTAIN/PEUT CONTENIR MICA, CI 77891/TITANIUM DIOXIDE, CI 77491/IRON OXIDES] F.I.L. D8974/11. Say what? LipSense:

LipSense sellers will scream at you all day that their product is so much more natural. A quick glance at ingredients would support that it's not TOTALLY natural, but I would concur with MORE natural. So, as much as I like that $7 price point a lot better than the $25 of LipSense, I'm still stuck on LipSense. Oh, and Maybelline also makes a remover stick for the 24 hour color. I bought that too for another $6. Here's what's funny. It will take off the Maybelline color... but not LipSense. But LipSense's Oops remover took them both off. All in all the color was great, but I'll be looking for a comparable one at LipSense. This Maybelline is getting handed off to a family member. If you still can't justify the $25 on LipSense, and you must try this one as a more affordable option, stay away from food and keep your gloss stick handy. You can buy it by clicking on the picture. If you're even more interested in LipSense, I refer you back to the rep who sent the tube for me to test. I'll be asking her to send me a comparable color for this Maybelline one. Her link is HERE.

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page