top of page

Trades of Hope

I have to admit I'm surprised by how many direct sales company representatives reach out to me to do product reviews. Being a critic of the DS/MLM sales method, I never expected so many to contact me. I don't know if it's because in spite of my distaste for many of the programs, if the product is good I have no problem talking about it. I think some of them want to make me rethink my position on direct sales and multi-level marketing.

They want to seduce me with a program and a compensation plan, and of course- their mission. Admittedly, there are a couple programs I've raised my eyebrow at in consideration. Some of the products just wowed me so much. Others have a strong mission I can relate to. This would be one of them. Trades of Hope is a DS company that buys jewelry and accessories from female artisans from all over the world. These women are victims of the sex trade, some are suffering from HIV/AIDS, some are in war torn countries. The mission here is to support these women directly and help them put food on their tables, pay them fair wages, and give them the ability to succeed in spite of their circumstances. T.O.H. has a fair trade certification, and aside from paying the artisans from all over the world (Guatemala, Haiti, India, etc.) fair wages, the company also makes donations to various charities annually. All of that considered, it's a pretty cool sounding program. Enter Sarah, the rep I spent the evening having coffee and friendly conversation with. She's shy at first, but very sweet. You can see in her eyes when she speaks to you that she cares about the conversation you share, and pays attention to what you are discussing. A truly genuine person, she provided me her reason for wanting to participate in this program above any other: "I don't think that I could sell for just any DS company. I need a purpose to push past myself and my fear to sell. Being a Compassionate Entrepreneur for Trades of Hope I am working on doing just that! Through TOH I get to empower women all over the world including the USA! You see, the artisans we work with need me to sell the products they create, so they can work every day and take care of their family, and I depend on selling those products to care for mine. We are codependent. It's a pretty neat cycle if you ask me. I want to help them be successful, help keep mamas and babies together, help women stay out of the adult industry and those that have been trafficked, help children go to school, help those deemed outcast know that they are still worth it. With Trades of Hope, I am doing that and more!" She admits to me that through communicating with people in her TOH parties, she's working on becoming a more fluid public speaker. Observing her in action, I noticed that once she got used to talking with me, she opened up her body language, her speaking became more relaxed, and I got to see her comfortable side shine through. I can see why this type of job could help you open up. (After all, I'm a salesperson too! There's a certain personality type needed to succeed in sales. She's got it! It's just a little shy!) So, once she started showing me the products (I admittedly fell in love with several of them from the whitewashed trivet, to the clay Unity necklace and the Identity bracelet!) and here was her personality, her enthusiasm and openness blossoming in front of me. These products were the catalyst. Her love for this brand was so honest. So present. She described every single item she had with her in detail to me. Where it was from, what it means, and what she liked about it. Oh yes, she is going to be a great salesperson. This, I can assure you. The time came to get myself back home and she handed me the products she wanted me to take a look at. A bracelet called "Selah"- made in Haiti from locally sourced mountain clay. It's not a typical bracelet that would match my own style, but truthfully, there was something about it that was endearing to me, and I found myself wearing it a few times this week. The quality is very good- with a very thick stretchy cord core. I had forgotten to take it off one day when I jumped in the shower. I was in for about 10 minutes before I realized I had it on. I was nervous I had damaged it, but it survived! The retail price on this Flintstone-esque accessory is $26 and worth it.

The other item she gave me was a pair of earrings called "Dazzling". These are made in India and resemble a lotus flower in design. The metal that the glass gems are secured with is brass and iron, but they did not cause me to have any reaction. (My ears are really sensitive!) These are really pretty for a night out or to draw a little attention to your ears. This atypical style is eye catching and feminine. The earrings retail for $24 and there is also a beautiful necklace that matches.

Either of these pieces were just lovely- and there are so many more amazing pieces in the catalog with materials ranging from clay to seashell to beads. Oh, and they have these really beautiful purses/bags that look like they are the quality you'd buy right from a department store. Sarah made sure to tell me that where the pricing is reasonable for handcrafted items, the company still wants their customers to be thrilled with every purchase and she explained a mishap with her purse and how very easy it was to get it replaced. She also likes to participate in her own fundraising efforts for people who cross her path. Why not take a look at what she has to offer, and fall in love with the company, the mission, the products- AND Sarah? Visit her facebook group HERE or if you aren't a group person, her direct shopping link is HERE

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page