top of page

Why Julep Can Take ALL My Money

THE MAVEN BOX

I signed up for the monthly Maven box a few months ago. Look- I'm not going to lie to you and tell you I don't have an addiction to subscription boxes. I do. Ohhhh I do. When I signed up for Julep, it was only because they were giving a free 12pc polish set away when you enrolled in their monthly box. But the box is pretty effing cool. (Want that free polish set, click HERE) My first Maven box was pretty cool too. I got a nail polish I loved, a matte lip gloss, and a shimmery eyeshadow creme stick. I'm going to stop right here and take a moment to appreciate the shit out of that eyeshadow stick. I love it. It's super blendable, stays put, and the other end is a sponge wand to either blend and shade, or lighten it if you put too much on. Best product EVAHHHH. The Maven box is a typical once a month deal. But what's atypical about it is that you can swap out items for others, and add on at a huge discount. So say you despise the polish coming to you this month. No problem- get into your account and customize the box- swap the polish for something else and forget about it. The only drawback is the customization portion is only available for a short window of time every month. The subscription is $24.99 and at first I thought that was steep and I hesitated because I thought "How many damn nail polishes can I have, really?" ALL of them. I can have all of them and you can't stop me. You also get points for every box delivery you take. So every month gets you points toward free things. Sweet. Ok so that's the box. Worth it? Yes. I like it a lot- and I'll tell you that I tried Julep two years ago and I hated it. Julep has evolved so much since its baby Julep days, and it makes me just giggle every month it comes. Use my link HERE to sign up because it gives me a $15 credit and because you love me. And that's another perk- you refer your friends to enroll and you too shall be bestowed with $15 credit every time someone gets the box. MY FAVORITE JULEP THINGS Eyeshadow 101- those are the creme eyeshadow sticks I mentioned above. These things are the best to

keep in your purse, or to travel. They are the size of a pen, no brushes required. Just draw, blend, and go. Creamy and easy gliding, they aren't chunky and they have a literal TON of colors. Go HERE and type EYESHADOW 101 to check them out. My favorite colors? Taupe Shimmer and Olive shimmer. My green eyes are smiling wearing these two.

It's Whipped Matte Lip Mousse-I love these. They have many colors to choose from and they go on pretty heavy and are uber creamy. They don't taste horrible, stay put pretty well, and don't flake. Click HERE and type It's Whipped to get yours! Adventurous Aquarius Nail Polish- This is my color du jour at the moment. I'm not a traditional holiday colors girl and I'm a sucker for blues. This is my base color and I used a snowflake stencil and holographic silver glitter to make a snowy seasonal look on my nails. Click HERE and type ADVENTUROUS AQUARIUS to grab yours.

SAVE YOUR MONEY and DO NOT BUY THESE Your Lip Addiction Tinted Oils- If ass could be liquified and tinted, it would taste like these oils. It's got a very motor oil smell and taste to it, and even though I bought the reddest red, it left a "I drank Kool-Aid" type of tint on my lips that was greasy feeling and migrated. I couldn't eat or lick my lips at all without tasting it- and I gagged every time. Kissable? Nope. Hubby planted one on me and straight out said- "What the fuck were you eating? Gasoline?" I'm going to put this one on the "Don't even regift it" list. Unless it's to your least favorite person anyway. Tyra Metamorphic Top Coat- Remember I said to read the reviews if there was a polish you wanted to try? Tyra is the reason I say this. Tyra LOOKS like a pearly shimmer top coat that may have an opalescent sheen. Nope. It doesn't. It's milky-finish dulls everything. Ever sleep in your contacts and wake up with a layer of eye-scum over your lens? This polish would be that equivalent on your nails. It dulls the color, takes a month to dry, and the only thing it morphs into is shit. You have to put a top coat over this top coat to get any kind of shine. Julep fail. Save your dollars and buy a different polish. NOTE THIS: I've had many Julep orders come in. While most of them are issue free, I've had a few challenges. One monthly box wasn't taped and two products were missing. Julep customer service was AMAZING and immediately sent me out replacements. On another occasion, three lip items I had ordered looked like they had been used. I don't mean like half was gone, but the wands had clearly been at least pulled out of their tubes. A quick call to Julep got them replaced right away. They asked no questions, and my customer service rep was really sweet and kind of grossed out along with me. It felt good that she commiserated with me a bit- I know it sometimes feels petty when you call over something that isn't a huge deal. She was so cool and was like- "No, if you think someone used it, throw it away right now. You don't need to deal with that!" Their customer service is worth the order. They earned a customer in me, and once again- if you tried them in their younger days and weren't impressed maybe it's time to try again. You just might thank me.

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page