top of page

Cookware That 'Pans' Out

Raise your hand if you've bought a cookware set because the price was right, or the name was one you knew. Now raise your hand if you found yourself with pots or pans from the set you have no use for- OR without pieces you actually could use. I'm in all of these categories. When it came time to upgrade my T-Fal pans to my highly coveted Calphalon cookware I'd been drooling over last year, I opted to buy individual pieces instead of a set. What's the benefit of buying open stock? Don't you save money buying the set? Maybe, but if you're a foodie like me, it's quite possible you're not serving your cookware needs by getting the set over open stock. Sure, buying a set can save you money if all you need is in the box. But I find myself using multiples of the same pot or pan at one time- especially when it comes to cooking for the holidays. I elected to price compare and look for individual pieces that met my needs instead of just getting that cute set in aqua blue that really served only a fraction of my kitchen needs. My reality was that I need two basic sets- or I could just buy two of what I need and not buy what I don't. Whichever way you go- set or open stock, when you shop for new pots and pans having an understanding of what each brand and material's limitations and benefits are is a great starting point. Let's start with the different parts of a pan to familiarize yourself with the terms and importance of each piece. I borrowed this image from a Consumer Reports article on the top rated cookware of 2017. The article is HERE if you'd like to read further.

This image does a wonderful job of breaking down each portion of a pan and discussing its role and importance. I think a lot of us from my generation (70's and 80's babies) have nonstick ingrained into our heads. Nonstick makes things like cooking eggs and cheeses easier, but think beyond the coating. Do you love to sear your steaks? Stainless steel is excellent for that as well as cast iron. Nonstick won't let you get that really great browned or seared taste but steel, iron, or copper will! In this image, they talk about choosing cookware that reflects what you cook most of. If you cook a lot with tomato or tomato sauces, you might want to stay away from copper pans- as copper can make sauces that have high acidity taste bitter. Aluminum pans that are not coated can also do this. This is why I suggest open stock pots and pans. Select what you use to fit your needs and focus less on matchy-matchy kitchen cuteness. I have a few 12" nonstick pans for my breakfast omelettes and making things like grilled cheese for my kids. A large nonstick pot for making soups and sauces, a huge ceramic pot for large batches of chili and soup and for making broths and stocks. I have cast iron pans for searing meats and making things like fajitas. Since you don't wash cast iron, the metal "seasons" with the various flavors of what you prepare. This makes for excellent fajitas with grilled onions and peppers infusing flavor into the pan. My all-around cookware is stainless steel and just as I chose Calphalon for my nonstick cookware, I elected to buy the same for my stainless. I only bought pots and pans with glass lids as opposed to metal- for the simple fact that I can watch and see what's going on inside with ease. I also chose the cookware pieces that could go from stove to oven. This eliminates my need for many extra bakeware pieces and cuts down on cleaning time. That means wooden or plastic handles were out of the running for me. All the handles of my cookware are stainless steel. And this is just the tip of the iceberg when you are selecting what materials and brands of cookware to bring into your kitchen. Each material has pros and cons and you must weigh those against each other before investing in your pieces. -Aluminum is probably the most affordable of cookware materials but can dent and leave a bitter taste in food. Invest in hard anodized aluminum if you go this route. -Copper dents, scratches, and patinas- and is extremely pricey. It can only be hand washed as placing them in the dishwasher can pit and gouge the metal. Copper can also make foods that are acidic taste bitter. Yet, copper is known for cooking thoroughly and efficiently. -Enamel coated cast iron cleans easily and distributes heat well but is really heavy. -Uncoated cast iron can rust if left in a damp environment, must be hand washed and seasoned, and can be expensive. -Stainless steel is very durable and non-food reactive but can sometimes be hard to clean. -Nonstick can sometimes be dishwasher safe, sometimes safe for use in the oven (check the manufacturer instructions for temperature ratings) and now some can be used with metal utensils. (Check first before ruining a potentially expensive pan!) The cons of nonstick are the coating can scrape off with misuse, and some studies talk about misuse and overheating leaching chemicals into the air and potentially your food. Make sure you're following manufacturer guidelines for cooking and use. There are more features to consider outside of the basic composition of the pan. Handle makeup (plastic and wood aren't going to be oven safe), the core- is it an especially conductive material? Do you have an induction cooktop? If so, your cookware will need to be magnetic in order to work with your range. Electric cooktops don't do well with rounded bottoms such as woks- and an adapter ring will need to be used. Flat, traditional pots and pans seem to fit the needs of a broad range of households, and it's because of this that so many different options exist to choose from. This brings me to why Calphalon is my choice. The only other brand I drooled over was All-Clad, but it can be insanely pricey for no real reason other than name. Comparable quality is available in other brands such as Calphalon. This brand offers mid to high-end product that I have had nothing but fantastic experiences with. That being said, I stayed completely away from the mid-range offerings and selected the high-end anodized nonstick pots and pans such as this Contemporary 4 1/2 quart black saucepan with stainless steel steamer insert HERE Watching for deals or shopping on Amazon or discount stores like TJMaxx has afforded me the ability to build an impressive cookware set that caters to my own needs and I was able to add pieces as I needed them without investing it all at once. Each piece has been worth the investment- but I'm careful not to pay full price wherever possible. The pan I show above has a retail price of $150- but is available from Amazon for $89.99. If you simply must buy a set of pans, this 8 pc set from Calphalon has high marks and is discounted HERE. It averages to just under $50 a pan (with lids) and that's a pretty good price in my opinion. This particular set has the basics that are staples in any kitchen. For under $200, it's a good jumping off point to then add whatever else you may need later. As for my old T-Fal set, it was a gift and was not much less in price than the Calphalon I mentioned above for a few more pieces. It was a decent set for what it was, but it didn't hold up as well as the Calphalon does. If you don't beat the hell out of your pots and pans daily, investing in a prissy brand might not be something you want to do, and T-fal might just serve your needs. HERE's a similar set to what I had. Ironically, the cooking utensils that came with it are still with me, where the pans survived for just over 3 years. My Calphalon pieces have already been with me almost a full year, and they still look like new. Some things to consider when buying anything nonstick- try to handwash whenever possible. Some pans are reported to be dishwasher safe, but the truth is with ANY product, the dishwasher will eat away and dull it. The same happens with coatings and non-stick finishes. If you really want to extend the life of your cookware, handwash whenever possible. If you're storing them in a cabinet and stacking them inside of one another, it's wise to invest in pot protectors like THESE. These felt fabric flowers bend to fit inside of your pots and pans when nested, and not only protect the finish of the inside of the pan, but prevent damage to the outside of those that are nested on top. No more dings or scratches. If you're going to invest any amount of money in a decent cookware set, the best practice is to always protect them from damage or you might find yourself having to replace them sooner than later. Hopefully this article lends a bit more insight to your cookware shopping skills and helps those of you shopping to understand that selecting cookware goes far beyond a name and color of the pans.

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page