top of page

IT Cosmetics Confidence In A Cream


I'm going to say it straight. I don't have "skin issues" to speak of. If I have one personal brag card to use, it's my skin. Funny thing about it is I'm neurotic about skincare first, but second, I have several autoimmune issues and my doctors think that one of the side effects of the diseases is super-soft doughy skin. My husband laughs at that, calling it "the sexiest autoimmune symptom ever" and tells people I have "skin like a dolphin". Then we all laugh at my awkward yet slightly cool freakish symptoms. But my mom also has really soft skin and she didn't age the way most women do either. The difference between us is my mom was a chainsmoker for years and I'm physically repulsed by the THOUGHT of smoking. I've never smoked a cigarette- ever. Where her skin held up really well in spite of the smoking, I could see the damage- and more so the potential her skin had to really be beautiful for longer than most. That made me extremely careful and diligent with moisturization and treatment so I can get the most out of the life of my youthful skin. That being said, 37 crept up on me fast. I lost a ton of weight after getting really sick with my last two babies. It was weight I needed to lose (and now I'm working hard to keep it off and lose more) but holy shit, I found jowls in this whole ordeal. Hell to the no. Go away. It's simple- rapid weight loss coupled with aging skin= jowls. Fuuuuuck you. Granted I totally appreciate that anyone looking at me might not notice this as much as I do, but we are our own worst critics, aren't we? Short of firming and toning being needed, I'm pretty happy with my skin overall but I still use all the junk I possibly can to ensure I stay as wrinkle and spot free as possible. Enter IT Cosmetics Confidence In A Jar. I have probably two dozen skincare products I need to review right now, but I skipped to this one because of the claims they make on the box. I was fully expecting to angrily tweet them about false advertising and "clinical" claims. That isn't how this turned out at all. In their clinical studies, they claim 100% of people reported their skin felt softer and more moisturized. 97% said their skin looked and felt rejuvenated, 94% said skin felt and looked younger, 81% said fine lines minimized and wrinkles were less noticeable. Now, that's a lot of claims. All companies boast that their product is amazeballs and better than everyone else's. But then I started digging around online. On Amazon, 76% rated it 5 stars, and 10% said it was 4 stars. So 86% of people were thrilled with it on Amazon. Ok. Ulta had over 1,800 reviews and an average rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars. Sephora had a few hundred with the average rating of 4.4 Ok, IT Cosmetics, you have got my attention.

So I open up this jar and I immediately am greeted with a friendly scent that reminds me of those lightly lemon scented wet wipes you get at barbecue restaurants to wipe the BBQ sauce off your hands after fisting ribs into your mouth. Yeah, that was me a few times. Don't judge. Anyway, I digress... that light citrus smell can be explained by the grapefruit and orange peel oils in the ingredient list and as face creams go, I REALLY wanted to use it BECAUSE the scent was so pleasant. This is a HUGE win for me considering I turned up my nose at Dr. Jart once because the Ceramidin cream was too medicinal smelling for me to want to use it. But does it work? I'm going to say yes. I have noticed over the two weeks I've been using this product that the jowls do appear to have diminished a bit, my skin feels amazing- dewy, soft, and plump. What is IN this stuff? Unicorn blood and virgin elf hair? According to the site, some of the main ingredients are: collagen, hyaluronic acid, peptides, ceramides, antioxidants and colloidal oatmeal. Ok, so a far cry from unicorn blood, but Goddamn if my skin doesn't feel magical. This is creamy and light, and absolutely the farthest thing from greasy. I say dewy and I MEAN dewy. My face is so moist and just so hydrated right now! This is important especially this time of year- I'm just outside of Chicago, and as I type this review, the temperature is -5 fahrenheit. My fireplace is going constantly (which completely sucks out any humidity from my home) and I often wake up feeling like my skin is mummified or ready to just peel right off. That has not been an issue at all since I started using this cream, and to be honest, I'm kind of upset that I have to stop for any amount of time in order to test out other products. (I'm sure there are other amazing products I'll be reviewing, but I'm just head over heels for this one!) I also have been sneaking just a little bit on my lips when I apply it in the morning, and I noticed my lips are not chapping as much as they normally do this time of year. (I'm not a fan of Chapstick-type products, and I often stay bare-lipped which is not the smartest move in Chicago winters.) I'm not sure if you SHOULD apply it to your lips, but it certainly is helping mine. It doesn't have any warnings like "Instant death if you accidentally eat miniscule amounts of this" or "You'll grow horns in places you aren't supposed to apply this", so I think it's probably ok. It doesn't taste horrible either. (Don't eat a jar of it! Just pointing out that IF you used it on your lips sparingly, you aren't going to gag and retch.) All in all, this got ordered in quantity. Hubby begrudgingly tried it and said- "Ugh I want to review this so badly but I don't want to be that dude that talks skincare only." So maybe he will at some point, but know that it's got DaddyGyver's dude stamp of approval too. 2 oz jar is $47.90 on Amazon. Buy it HERE before I buy it all.

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page