top of page

Deco Miami Nail Polish Review

Hello, I'm Christina, and I am an addict. Nail polish addict, that is.

These aren't my nails! Image source: Deco Miami Nail Polish

What's interesting about this fact is I have also been a nail biter for about 35 of my almost 38 years of life. Having an addiction to nail polish is interesting when you can't maintain your mani long enough to let the polish dry. That didn't stop me though. I have HUNDREDS of bottles of nail polish. And as of about two months ago, I have kicked my nail nibbling habit right in the butt- opening the door to all the glory of finally being able to truly indulge in my collection of polishes. Don't get me wrong, I didn't always waltz around with nubbin nails. I'd wear acrylics or gels for as long as I could stand them. I'd paint them, stamp them, decorate them, but now that I know what it feels like to drag a lacquer brush dripping with colorful shellac across my natural nails, it's not hard to never want to bite again. Polish on a natural nail feels absolutely divine and for whatever reason, painting my natural nail gives me an amazing understanding of the texture of the polishes I have well beyond I ever understood while painting a false nail. Today, I opened my first bottle of Deco Miami polish that came in my ipsy bag this month (Use my link HERE to get your own ipsy bag!) called "Namaste by the Pool". Yes, girl, yes I am going to stay by the pool. All summer. The name is cute and so much my sentiment for summer life. I foresee this on my fingers all summer long. It's this incredible bright cobalt blue that makes me think of the water just at sunset on the seven mile bridge while driving down to Key West. Or, as the name implies- the dark blue color that is so common in the tile mosaics in south Florida pools. Namaste. The bottle design matches the brand name. It's a small, square bottle with a ribbed gold plastic cap and gold art deco pattern/logo on the front. The brand offers 2 sizes: 6ml ($8) and 14.8ml ($12). The full size has the same cap, but is a short, flat, hockey puck shaped bottle- again, very art deco and very, very Miami. (Speaking as a resident of the beautiful beach city for over 8 years myself- totally enchanted with the Deco influence that's rampant throughout South Beach and the famous Ocean Drive...) The polish itself is thinner than most but in my opinion, super high quality. Be warned: this isn't a one-and done polish. You're going to need two coats. But they will be the most enjoyable two coats of polish you will ever use. The texture is creamy, dreamy, and smooth, not watery, not syrupy... the polish glides on with absolutely no drag. Even if you paint unevenly, the coat levels out by the time it dries. It's just fluid enough to move before it sets. Paint quickly though because it does dry pretty fast! I attribute the quick dry time to the thinnish nature of the polish. Thinner dries faster. The trade off on the drying speed is an extra coat being needed to accomplish that bright color you see in the bottle- but I'm a two layer lacquer girl anyway. I'm going to assume many of you are too. The creaminess I'm drooling over may be due to the fact that this polish contains coconut oil. In fact, the brand boasts about the polish being a better option for your nails because of the nourishing oil it uses within. The brand isn't just good for your nails, it's good for animals too. How so? This brand is entirely vegan in formulation and cruelty free. You can't beat that with a cuticle stick! Need more to love? It's a woman owned brand, made in the USA, and "5 Free"- meaning it doesn't contain any of the following: DBP, formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, toluene, camphor, parabens, xylene, ethyl tosylamide, and is also triphenyl phosphate (TPHP) free. A caveat: This particular color (Namaste by the Pool) contains Ultramarine Blue. As a woman with a history in cosmetics, soaps, and colorants, I know very well that UB has a sort of sulphur/skunk kind of an odor about it. I contacted the company to ask about it, and sure enough- it's UB that's the culprit. The owner, Jules, was so accommodating to my questions without even knowing there would be a blog written about this product, I felt it was worth mentioning. She cared about my concern and my questions- and that spoke volumes to me. She took my comment about the stinky color in stride, maybe even chuckled with me a bit. I'm sure it helped that I understood why this particular color was a little bit stinky and wasn't a total jerk about it. I like her- and aside from the temporary nasal offense of this one particular color, I really liked the polish. So much so in fact, that I went back and ordered more colors...4 more colors to be exact. I'll assure you that the smell of the Namaste polish does go away once it's dried. So if you're a fan of this shade, don't worry too much. The brand also has a rewards program on their site for loyal shoppers. I look forward to getting my new colors, and seeing what else Deco Miami has in store for the future. Jules, you go girl- you've got a winner there. I'll see you by the pool. 305 represent! Shop Deco Miami HERE

Follow Us
Recent Posts
bottom of page